Planning for The Perfect Health Diet

So, I’ve been reading ‘The Perfect Health Diet’ by Paul and Shou-Ching Jaminet. It’s a good read, and confirms a lot of my suspicions about certain foods. I was considering starting a Whole30 this week, but I have decided to give the PHD a try instead.

style=

I’ve made up a meal plan for the week with lots of no fuss, no hassle meals. I’m going to hit the kitchen and cook up the vegies, prepare the skinless sausages, make pickles and cook rice. I’ve already broken down two whole free range chickens, used the bones for stock and frozen the meat for later in the week.

Here are a few things I’ll be doing (in addition to the food component) …

Intermittent Fasting – I will be fasting for 16 hours of the day, with an eating window of 8 hours (between 11am and 7pm). This should fit in well with CrossFit, my circadian rhythms, work and life in general. Bone broth is permitted during the fasting period so I have a big pot of chicken broth simmering away as I write.

+25%/-25% – If I have CrossFit, I’ll be eating 25% more that day. If I don’t have Crossfit, I’ll be eating 25% less. Seems like I’ll be at CrossFit most days…

Sleep Quality – If you didn’t already know, sleep is important. If you don’t sleep right, to put it bluntly, everything is shit. So I’m taking steps to do everything I can to improve sleep quality – blackout blinds are up, electronics and lights are out of the bedroom, all screens are off two hours before bed, lights are on a dimmer and nine hours are blocked out for sleep.

And here are a few things I won’t be doing …

Eating Liver – The PHD recommends eating organ meat. I would, but I’d throw up. Sorry.

Avoiding Carbs – The PHD recommends eating safe starches such as potatoes and rice. Once upon a time, I would have left this out. But after seeing improvement with the small amounts of potato and rice I have added into my diet over the past few months, I’m going for it. All about the carb train! (It’s a pretty slow train. Because there isn’t a huge amount of carbs involved, and they will be lower GI by the time I add the required fat and acid to them. If you disagree with that, read the book and take it up with the Jaminets.)

Eating Breakfast – I’m fine to wait until 11am for my first meal. I’ve been doing this naturally anyway – I used to smash an omelette each morning but these days the thought of it turns my stomach. I drink a cup of coffee and a cup of bone broth and I’m happy.

It must seem a little unusual, this obsession with food and self experimentation that Tyson and I have. We are both quite healthy, and although we could stand to lose a little belly fat, we are both within the healthy weight range, with good muscle mass. I guess that once you start paying attention, REALLY paying attention, to how certain foods affect you (in a myriad of ways, from sleep quality to digestive health), it gets so fascinating that it is hard to stop. If you have good baseline health, it doesn’t mean you can’t get any healthier.

Another important thing to consider is that being healthy is all about what works for the individual. What works for me might not work for you, and that is ok. That is why self experimentation is so fascinating. It lets you become an expert on your own body – but your body only. And I think that since I am spending my whole life in this body, I should probably get to know it as best I can, so I can care for it as best I can.

Have a great week!

Have you tried the PHD? Intermittent fasting? Self experimentation? Want to give us some advice? We love getting your comments, questions, and feedback!

Leave a Reply

