Beetroot Love (and a recipe!)

I didn’t get to post about last Sunday’s foodstorm. Somewhere amongst the shopping and carting of shopping and chopping and cooking, I did something excruciating to my neck. I don’t know what it was, but MAN it hurt. I am just getting back to normal now, and have almost a full range of motion (for the first two or three days I had to turn my whole body if I wanted to turn my head). Anyway, it was quite similar to the previous food storm, except I roasted lamb instead of pork and I cooked up a big batch of Persian beef stew in the slow cooker.

I did a lot of my shopping at the Flemington Farmers Market, which is on every Sunday at Mount Alexander College. There were plenty of great stalls to choose from, and I ended up getting most of my vegetables and fruit, some delicious cheese, free range eggs and some pork mince and bacon. Everything I got was great, but I was especially taken with the beetroots that I bought from the Spring Creek Organics stall.

I peeled and cut them, then roasted them in the oven until they were soft.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So pretty!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I put half away for lunches, and turned the other half into the easiest, most delicious beetroot dip you have ever seen.

♥♥♥

Beetroot Dip

2 medium beetroots

2 tablespoons full fat greek yoghurt

A couple of sprigs of mint

Salt and pepper

Cut and cube the beetroots, just like I did. Toss them in some olive oil, and roast them in the oven until they are soft when you poke them with a fork.

Put the roasted beetroot into a bowl with the other ingredients, then whizz the whole lot up with a stick mixer until it is smooth-ish.

♥♥♥

That’s it. Told you it was easy. I may or may not have added some lime juice – I honestly can’t remember.

I’ve been eating this on anything I can get my hands on – the cold roast lamb, scrambled eggs, dipping carrot and celery into it, putting it on bits of apple, crumbling a bit of feta cheese on top … it’s that good.

One thought on “Beetroot Love (and a recipe!)

Leave a Reply

